The Student News Site of Weber State University

The Signpost

The Signpost

The Signpost

The Signpost

Latest YouTube Video

Money talks louder than words

Elizabeth Hall is Weber State University's home to its English and Communication department.

Need money to pay for school? It’s out there, especially within the Communication Department. Students just need to get involved.

Participating in one of the five co-curriculars within the department can be an exciting way to both gain experience and understand the world better.

The Weber State Debate team has scholarships such as the Louis W. Babcock Debate Scholarship and the Leland H Monson Debate Scholarship. These scholarships are in addition to the tuition waivers a student can receive for participation in the team.

The Scholarships Committee awards the scholarships based on nominations from the debate director, Ryan Wash. To qualify, debate students must be full-time students and maintain a GPA of 2.5.

KWCR, Wildcat radio, offers tuition waivers to students of all majors who are selected for leadership positions. The station also offers the Len Allen Memorial Scholarship, which is awarded to “an outstanding established member of the radio station.” The Scholarship Committee awards this scholarship based on nominations from the adviser.

The Signpost, a WSU student news organization, offers tuition waivers for those who participate. Additionally, there are several named scholarships awarded annually to journalism majors, including the Jack and Betty Lampros scholarship. They are also awarded based on nominations from the adviser.

The student-run video production studio, Studio 76, offers activity waivers for staff positions from team leaders to program directors. Along with those waivers, other scholarships, such as the Shane Farver Scholarship, are available for students. These also require a nomination from the adviser.

The fifth co-curricular is Ogden Peak Communication. This is a public relation firm that offers tuition waivers to the leadership of the organization. Interested students should apply in order to take advantage of the available waivers.

In addition to co-curricular scholarships, there are two other communication department specific scholarships.

The Patrick R. Parkinson Scholarship is for a communication major with emphasis in Multimedia Journalism, Public Relations and Advertising or Civic Advocacy. Preference is given to students in Multimedia Journalism.

Students that apply must have a minimum of a 2.5 GPA. Financial need is preferential, but doesn’t have to be shown through FAFSA. Students will be nominated by advisers.

The Communication Studies Merit Scholarship focuses on communication majors with a declared emphasis of Civic Advocacy, Interpersonal and Family Communication or Organizational. Students applying must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and must be a junior or senior and write a two-page essay.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

Comments written below are solely the opinions of the author and does not reflect The Signpost staff or its affiliates.
All The Signpost Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *