Another year, another haul

Denice Page (Utah Press)
Breanna Hart, former editor-in-chief of The Signpost, holding up the award for General Excellence along with others who won the same award in different groups.

The Signpost recently attended the Utah Press Association’s Better Newspaper Awards dinner, and just like every other year, The Signpost competed against colleges all across Utah and, once again, brought home a multitude of awards.

For the year of 2022, The Signpost brought home awards in nearly every category, including the General Excellence award. This was the seventh year in a row The Signpost was given this award.

In addition to this award, the paper as a whole received first place for the best special section, first for the best news coverage, second for the best sports page, second for best lifestyle page, third for best community event and, finally, first for best website.

Along with these staff awards, The Signpost received many individual awards. They are as follows:
3rd place for best general news story: Alexandrea Bonilla 2nd place for best sports story: Emily Miller 1st place for best educational story: Catie Weimer
1st place for best government/political story: Alec Cipollini
3rd place for best business story: Hunter Lindsey 2nd place for best news series: Skyler Mundell
2nd place for best editorial: Breanna Hart 1st place for best sports column: Simon Mortensen & Rayshaun Baker-Lynch
1st place for best news photo: Anna Kuglar
2nd place for best sports photo: Sara Staker
3rd place for best feature photo: Kennedy Camarena
2nd place for best infographic: MaKayla Martinez
3rd place for Harrison R. Merrill best front page: Star Neil
3rd place for best staff-produced ad: Megan Swann
2nd place for best advertising idea: Megan Swann
2nd place for best circulation promotion: Edson Cordiero
1st place for best in-house promotion: Alexandrea Bonilla

The Signpost also takes part in the Society of Professional Journalists Region Nine Mark of Excellence Awards, and this year, there were finalists in multiple categories from the staff. They are as follows:
Breaking News Reporting
Finalist: Alexandrea Bonilla, “Governor’s 360 tour”
General News Reporting Finalist: Marisa Nelson, “Disabled students on campus”
Finalist: MaKayla Martinez, “Where the Wildcats are”